Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Opinion on bike for new rider

Discussion in 'General Motorcycling Discussion' at netrider.net.au started by Sugarnspice, Aug 16, 2012.

1. Hi, I hope this is the correct area to post this question. I apologise if it's not, it's taking me a while to figure out what goes where on the forum.
    A friend of mine has asked my opinion of her buying a CFMoto leader 150, she can get a 2011 model with 4500kms on it for $1700. My first question is, do others think this bike would be suitable? My thoughts are that she would outgrow a 150 pretty quickly, I don't know anything about the type of bike that is, maybe it has more power than my VTR 250? As you can maybe tell, I am new to this bike business myself so need all the help I can get. My second question is, if this would be a suitable bike, does that price seem reasonable.
    Thanks in advance for your help and any advice I can pass onto her.
    Linda

2. Its Chinese and I am sure that they are only $2500 new, so I think it is too dear.

$1100-$1200 would be ok, as long as he realised that he would be best to service it himself or knew somewhere that would work on it before he bought it.

3. My only experience with these bikes are through where I did Qride, they had a couple of these bikes and they struggle with highway speeds even with a smaller rider. Not sure about the price, but she could get a honda cb125e for not much more if this is the type of bike she is after around that budget. The bike definitely doesn't have the power of your vtr 250 and if she is looking at doing similar rides to yourself Linda such as the group ride we particiated in a few weeks ago then she will 'outgrow' it immediately.