Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Discussion in 'Welcome Lounge' started by Mack, Sep 28, 2011.

1. Hello everyone! I just made the mistake of posting in the 'Bike Reviews, Questions and Suggestions' section before here- so here we go.
    I live in south-west Sydney, and am in my last year at school , and I hope to go to university next year. I've always loved my bikes, but I sorta saw them as 'that cool thing I can never have'. Well, some of my friends have went down and gotten their bikes- and the reality hit me. I want one.

So yeah, I'm new to the bike world. Yet to convince my parents to allow me to get a bike (which will be a hell of a tedious task), and yet to buy a bike!

I am deliberating between a VTR250, CB400, and a Ducati Monster.. I need some help though, see my other post in the section I mentioned above!

Looking forward to being part of this great community.
  2. Welcome Mack, and good luck with your parents!
  3. Welcome Mack.
    If your parents are unfamiliar with bikes they probably think it equals noise, speed and violence. Think Sons of Anarchy.
    It can be helpful for them to understand how difficult it is to get your licence-doing your L's under supervision, doing the MOST test (NSW), etc. ie trained instructors stepping you through every move over a couple of days in total, kicking people off the course if they are a danger to themselves or others.