Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

ongoing sore left hand at base of thumb from riding?

Discussion in 'New Riders and Riding Tips' at netrider.net.au started by kursed, Jun 26, 2007.

1. anyone else get this? I am having ongoing pain in my thumb joint since i started riding. I am trying to be relaxed on the bike (not gripping the bars like a monkey in a cyclone) but I am still getting a pretty sore hand for days afterwards... hasn't gone away at all either!

2. What sort of gloves you got? Its probably cause you ride aggressively and scare yourself! thats why your grip is like a monkey

3. just my left hand. throttle hand is fine. I am positioning my hands as the HART instructor urrr instructed, by having my wrists slightly lower than my hands, etc

4. Dont be tense. Try different grips or different gloves.
    Hopefully you'll soon become conditioned to riding.
    My right hand goes numb after a while but the left is fine. I just give it a shake as often as I can and its all sweet. Everyone is different.

5. I get that on my right hand, same spot as you say. But I beleive mine comes from a number of getoffs in early years on dirt bikes. Times when I almost ripped my thumb off my hand.

In my case (no laughing please) it goes away after two tank fulls, about 800k and I don't have it after that. So if I rode short day rides I would mosty likely have it on every ride.

Its quite painful after 50klms and on to around 150klms into a ride.

There is more to that than appears, I would not class myself as fit in the normal sense of it. But I am very riding fit.