Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

One Bike, One Newb, One Road (Long)

Discussion in 'General Motorcycling Discussion' at netrider.net.au started by Choofalong, Dec 15, 2011.

1. Sooo... this is gonna sound.. a bit out there, but I'd like for some to put some serious thought into this, as I am just going off an IDEA, and have no idea of the Logistics, or anything for that matter, apart from a drunken query on a Website that has sorta escalated...

Here's the Idea!

A TOTAL Newb, who's never ridden anything with a Clutch, riding around Australia, Capital Cities being the markers.

I got the idea from a Magazine, a LONG time ago, where a guy took a Postie around the same route. Hard to imagine, but it really stuck in my head (at least 10 years ago, Australasian POST) and from memory, was a great example of the relability and ruggedness of the machine.

What Bike I want to use: I don't really want to mention brand or anything: suffice to say it's a Chinese-made Road bike, 150cc, Liquid Cooled and the company itself hasn't baulked at the initial enquiry: quite the contrary, they've taken real interest and see it as a Challenge!

What I need: Some basic advice!
    Have I bitten off more then I can chew? I'm pretty much reknown for my Stamina, and ability to keep focused on even "mundane" tasks for an extrodinary amount of time, and I learn pretty fast, or so I have been told repeatedly.

Is it even POSSIBLE to do this, on a Learner License (Going through all states) and are all Capitals Linked with Tarred roads/Highways? (Obviously not Hobart/Tasmainia: I am sticking to the mainland)