Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Older Rider Starting Out

Discussion in 'Welcome Lounge' started by SpiderSlayer, Jan 30, 2016.

1. Hi all,

I'm just getting into motorcycling, at 45 years old.
    Have purchased my first bike, a 2006 Suzuki Intruder, VL250.
    My brother's an experienced rider, and keen to help get me on the road. Will be taking it very slow, building confidence and competence as I go; no hurry.

Ultimately, the wife and I aim to do some touring when the kids are older.
    Found this forum when searching for bike info, looking forward to the online community.
    • Like Like x 2
  2. Welcome to Netrider and to the joys of two wheeling!!!
  3. welcome aboard :) never to late for a bike
  4. Welcome to Netrider and 2 wheels .... You have come to the right place for advice and encouragement! :)
  5. Yupp..as others have said in the above posts.

Never too late to start but be careful, this is a dangerously addictive activity. ;)

Come on down to the Saturday practice one of these days...
  6. Welcome :) Another late starter here. We're everywhere!
  7. Yep, same as Greydog ! Welcome !
  8. Welcome SpiderSlayerSpiderSlayer it sure beats wearing lycra and holding up traffic!!!
  9. Welcome, SpiderSlayerSpiderSlayer
    I also started at 45, about 2 years ago.

250 to 500 to 650 bought just this week.
    It gets under your skin, this riding thing.
  10. Welcome SpiderSlayer,heaps of advice on the form.