Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Old Road Photography

Discussion in 'Multimedia' at netrider.net.au started by conspiracytheorist, May 11, 2008.

1. So I decided to have a crack at some bike photography this weekend. Borrowed a Nikon D80 and went to the old pacific highway today to practice. I'm still learning so these aren't all that hot, give me a few more attempts I'll get there :) Thanks to OldBellHelmet for stopping to say hi and showing me a few things with the camera. If any of those are you PM for higher res versions.

The photos are on photobucket:
    http://s162.photobucket.com/albums/t273/quinzx/Old Road 11-05-08/

But here are some samplers:
    DSC_0148.

DSC_0058.

DSC_0036.

DSC_0160.

2. Nice shots, were you using a tripod or shooting handheld?

3. Handheld mate, and haven't quite figured out how to pan with the right timing. Will be upping shutter speed next time, more light will help with that methinks.

4. True, did you try changing the aperture as well, might help get more light in?

5. Not yet :) Will be playing with it alot more in the weeks to come.

6. Well, the D80 is a very nice camera, should give you plenty of settings to play with. Good luck :)

7. noooooo, you don't UP the shutter speed for panning, you LOWER it and pan harder.....

8. Like this, Hornet?

aV290DW9.

1/50th shutter, and a lick of fillflash to help burn in the subject. :)

Yah, slowing down the shutter a little more could be neat. I like the first sample! :)

9. indeedly, no cheating with that picture <groan> :LOL:.

10. Hehe yeah I know, I want to keep the motion blur in there so will just have to learn to pan better. Half the time I just forget to do it :grin:

11. Cool CBR MoviStar - the bike I always wanted :grin: