Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Old Rider - New to Australia

Discussion in 'Welcome Lounge' started by cosmic_wanderer, Jan 4, 2016.

1. Hi Everyone,

I have been riding (over seas) for close to 12 Years now and recently moved to Sydney as a Permanent Resident.
    Still haven't got myself back on 2 wheels in this beautiful country as I am trying to sort out my license.

I am eligible to directly get an Unrestricted Motorcycle license after passing a DKT and a MOST test.
    (Hope I got the terms right, been doing a lot of reading online)

Booked a test and went down to RMS office to appear for it and they refused to accept my existing license as the card doesn't meet their requirements and I have been asked to produce a letter from my Consulate stating that it is a valid license.
    Ohh well... time to jump through a few government loops and then get back to RMS.

Anyways, hope to sort out the license situation soon and then start looking for my next machine soon.
    I dont need to do lot of city/urban riding. ( I walk to work and back everyday !! ) so I will probably go for an Adventure/Touring bike to explore the country.

2. Welcome to Netrider!... Hope you get your license sorted quickly :)
  3. Welcome, Wanderer! In which state are you? Rules vary across them.
  4. Welcome Wanderer. Titus, He's in Sydney ;-)
  5. Thanks,

Ya as Gooza said, Sydney so I am NSW.
    I have spent the last couple of months reading through the Rider Handbook and familiarizing myself with the nitty-gritty of the Licensing rules of NSW.
    Plus had a few chats with some fellow experienced riders at my work place to make sure I am clear about them.
  6. Welcome to NR - hope you get back on two wheels soon!