Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Old Newbie

Discussion in 'Welcome Lounge' started by Sith Lord, Dec 18, 2007.

1. There's certainly a lot of "Newbie" posts happening. Motorcycling seems to be booming!

I'm not a young newbie. Not an oldie returning to cycling. I'm an oldie getting his L's for the first time! Although I like to think that 36 isn't that old!! ??

Well, G'day and I'll be chatting.

2. No Ian 36 isn't that old - I got my license at 32!!!

We're old enough to enjoy riding for ridings sake, and get heaps cheaper insurance premiums!!

Welcome to Netrider!
  3. Thanks Carol. Yes. "L" Licence, No Experience. Fully Comp Insurance cheaper than my car.
  4. Hi Ian and welcome.

I'll give you a tip from a 2 year newbie ,bikes might be cheap to buy compared to a new car .
    But your in for a rude shock :shock: ,services on new bikes $$$ and all the gear and the extras like tank bags ,chain lube ,summer jackets winter jackets ,wet weather gear ,the list goes on and on and on.

It not as cheap as I originaly thought :LOL: ,but worth it. :grin:
  5. Yeah, don't get into motorcycling if you want to save money, that's for sure. Short commutes on a 250 might be cheaper than driving the cage, but once you get into big bikes, the wallet gets decidedly lighter! :(
  6. That's all good. Money is not my driving force. The fun. The excitement. The enjoyment. My better half will appreciate to cheaper weekly fuel bills, but don't worry (and don't tell her), I'm aware of the other "extras". I've already handed over $1,000 (Learner's Course, Helmet, Jacket, Gloves) and I don't have anything to ride yet.