Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Old bike, new member, just got my license..

Discussion in 'Welcome Lounge' started by TokyoHistory, Jan 1, 2012.

1. Hi all,

Im a newbie to the world of motorcycling.

My first ride on a motorcycle was about an hour and a half into the Pre - learners course at the local RTA on a rainy, cold day.

Upon completion of day 1 of the course i realised that there was no way in this world that i was going to be able to pass a P - plater test by doing an extra training course or 2 or getting a loaner bike from a mate for an hour or so of practice once a month.

So i went straight out and bought a bike that very day.

I had been through a decision making process in the weeks leading up to the purchase. I had considered new and used options up to around $7000, including scooters, chinese and korean bikes, nakeds and the usual learner ninja 250 thoughts................

I nearly bought a 'Daelim VJF250' and a 'Honda cbr250r'.
    Then i had thoughts that i might actualy 'drop' the bike or sc**** it up against a wall in the small parking space that i have.

I am now the proud owner of a single cyclinder, water cooled, 250cc, naked, retro style, japanese import, otherwise known as a 'HONDA GB250'.

I love it, its old as (27 years) and is quite rare and it has has spent most of its humble life over in Tokyo, Japan.

2. Welcome!
    I had to look that bike up. Looks like a great older bike and a real classic.
  3. Hi NSSherlock,

Yeah, i think the first i heard of them was when i did a 'bikesales' search Honda/ up to 250cc/ up to $5000/ Price high to low........and hey presto there it was.