Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Oil drain washer for GPX250

Discussion in 'Maintenance and Servicing' started by alwayseric, Jul 26, 2016.

1. i am going to do the oil change for my ages old GPX250 (2006) by myself (very first time!) I have everything ready except the washer. I know you don thave to change the washer every time, but considering it is my first time and the oil has never been changed since i got the bike. i wanna do a "proper" one. the question is i am not sure where i can buy the washers. I have never dealt with and dont want to deal with the dealer. I wonder if the wash is a standard size which i can find either in Bunnings or SCA?

thanks in advance.
  2. #2 ibast, Jul 26, 2016
    Last edited: Jul 26, 2016
    supercrap or repco. It can be copper/brass, noylon, aluminium or polymer.

But if the plug and sump surfaces are clean and flat and they haven't been over tightened, then you can probably get away without.
  3. They'll literally be a couple of dollars from a dealer and they'll have no problem selling you one. I'd just get it from there that way you know it will fit right. Definitely wouldn't risk an oil leak to save a dollar or two. I don't understand the disdain for the dealer parts counter at all.
    • Agree Agree x 1
  4. Make sure you start the plug into the thread with your finger, so you do not cross thread it.
  5. Even my local stealership only charged me a dollar for a washer. Mind you they stung me three times the price of the filter.
  6. The only time I've ever used a new washer was when I put in a new (magnetic) drain plug. Other than that, so long as you don't ever tighten them, they can be reused plenty.
    • Agree Agree x 1
  7. Do people actually start bolt and nuts in the socket? Surely nobody does that.