Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Oil change - how to?

Discussion in 'Bling and Appearance' at netrider.net.au started by I Adore Vic, Dec 3, 2006.

1. The Virago needs an oil change and while I've never done one before, I'm assured it's a simple enough procedure to do and am excited to give it a try. Woodsy et al told me what to do on Saturday night, but I'm not sure if what I remember of that conversation is what was actually said.

It'd be appreciated if someone could guide me through the process.

Thanks.

Rosie

2. Easy-Peasy...

Take the bike for a quick spin, to warm up the oil, bring her into the garage, put it on the center stand (side stand will do if you don't have a center, although you might have to stand the bike up if you want to get _all_ the oil out)

There will be a bolt on the very bottom of th emotor, it will be pretty big (17 or 19mm probably) you unscrew this then the oil comes out! you did put a container under there first didn't you!)

Now, fish the socket and plug out of the conatiner rapidly filling wih hot oil (cause I always drop em in there) and wait till the oil stops flowing (the warm up ride was to make this faster)

Put the bolt back into the sump, and fill your bike with new oil up to the "full" mark!

Ready to go!

It is as easy as that, nothing to worry about. You doing the filter as well?

Good luck!

PM me if you think you'll need any help, I'll give you my number, but there's plenty of peeps that will be willing to help closer to home I think.

Tim.