Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Oh Wise ones- stuck in 250 land and want something bigger

Discussion in 'New Riders and Riding Tips' started by cider, Mar 24, 2006.

1. Hello

I'm new to the 2 wheel game and basically have no idea. (if a sales rep is out there they could easily part a fool with his money. LOL) Just got my L's and I'm very keen to get a bike. I have been on the road on 4 wheels for 20 years and on the accoustic 2 wheels version ( push bike! - lol) for longer than that.

I love speed and acceleration hence why I have the sports car but I'm nervous to consider a sports bike because frankly I think I will wipe my self out.

So I'm thinking cruiser. I like the look of the Yamaha XVS 250 V star.

I have read the pros and cons of new vs old and undersatnd that you just have to get through the 250 period over and done with in the 12 months and enjoy what the big bike world has to offer once you are able to do so.

What I'm struggling with is the decsion to go with a 250 cruiser I like the look of and feel of or do I just get a bike ( CBR 250 / hornet 250 or the like ) and be done with it.

I like the look of sport bikes but have been told that L platers get hammered on insurance due to the fearings etc on these type of bikes not to mention the cost of repair. But and here's the but are they more popular with new riders???

Things that are on my mind - resale / style of bike ( I'm making the assumption as I'm a little older than most 250 buyers ( big assumption I guess) and my taste my be less popular than what the young people are riding - therefore, making it difficult to sell the bike in the future.) SO I'm concerened about resales of 250 cruisers .