Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Oh the horror. Ebay 2001 Aprilia rs 125

Discussion in 'Modifications and Projects' started by Steamfrog, Feb 13, 2011.

1. Well this weekend I set about taking a look at the 2001 Aprilia rs 125 (17,000 k's) I bought on Ebay (never again) fools rush in and all that stuff. Anyway coolant was draining into the crank case, in fact that much that the oil was basically coolant mostly green.. not good.

So it's raining and I thought hey might take a look at those seals so I took off the case coolant everywhere poring out of the gearbox and other assorted holes.

First thing that struck me was this shocker...
    Now I'm no mechanic but f*k me that ain't right... Oil pump drive gear,chewed to the sh*thouse.
    Anyone have an idea what causes this to happen?
    The balance shaft gears are looking close to this as well ordered new parts from the UK.

After some garage mechanics and multiple trips to super cheap auto to buy tools I took the power valve out - black and oily and covered in carbon, gave it a clean but think I just get a new one.

So I decided to take off the head...if the rest of the engine is way it is and the engine having done 17,000 km's I don't reckon the piston or rings have ever been done, great more fricken money.

Off came the head and this is what I found.
    this is after a hard scrub so I could read the numbers, it was black and totally caked in carbon about 2mm thick.

Because the oil pump doodad was funked check out the side of the piston
    and the other side

And the cylinder. Does this need replacing? there is wear but I cant feel any dips.

Also I made a video of the play on the conrod can someone please tell me if this is too much side to side play.
  2. That looks nasty mate.