Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Oggy knobs/crash bungs worth the risk?

Discussion in 'Bling and Appearance' started by Spud Gun, Apr 10, 2007.

1. I am thinking of getting some oggy knobs (crash bungs) for my 04 Sprint ST. These attach to the engine casing and don't damage the faring. But I have heard stories that some drops with oggy knobs attached have damaged the engine casing and in some cases have cracked it. I want to prevent serious bike damage, not trade one type of serious damage off for another. Is there truth to this or just an urban bike myth?

2. I have no experience with them, although Robsalvv had a thread on here a week or two ago about how to get one OFF that was bet in an accident. I don't think the fram was damaged, though.

I'm a braces and belt man, myself, and have a set of rather ugly but very effective Renntec (www.renntec.co.uk) engine bars on the Hornet. They have saved me a bundle of money....
  3. I've heard one bad story similar to what you've heard, but if you've dropped it hard enough to do that, it probably would have damaged the bike a fair bit anyway. They must be doing some people good, heard plenty of good stories about them. I just ordered some last week.
  4. Oggy Knobs

Having worked at BME & on the Bob Martin recovery trailer at SBK & Moto GP for years I've seen good & bad results. If it's a lowside slide on a smooth road, all good they work well & save panels etc. But if they dig into a pothole, look out! I've seen big damage to frames & engines that is nearly un-repairable. It's swings & roundabouts, sometimes they're good, sometimes ther're bad. Duncan.