Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

QLD Obtaining m/c licence

Discussion in 'Politics, Laws, Government & Insurance' started by Ebin Moothedom, Apr 13, 2014.

1. Hello All

My name is Ebin and I am a new person in this forum and new to Australia (arrived one year back) from India.

I have been riding motorcycles for the past 22 years and since I have moved to this beautiful country, I do not have a ride. I am getting more and more frustrated when I know I do not have a license to ride in this country and hence I have decided to get one here.

I do have the Australian open license for CAR, which I got without going through the standard stages of L --> P1 --> P2 as I already hold the Indian license. I sat for the written test, cleared it (after 3 times), went for the driving test, cleared it (after 2 attempts) and hey, I have an open license to drive a CAR, which I dont drive a lot. I want the motorcycle license to keep my peace within.

I checked the process for obtaining the motorcycle license to ride in this country and I came across these three points.

* You need to ride LAMS approved motorcycle for 1 year before you can ride the bigger bikes (I totaly agree to this).

* You need to hold an OPEN licesne for 1 year, before you can apply for motorcycle license (RL class ?). (Do I ? even if I hold a full Indian license)

* You cannot just obtain "R" license, even though you hold an international license and been riding for most of your life. You still need to go through all the stages above?

I live in Brisbane, and I work full time, Monday - Friday 9am - 6pm. I have no means to get in touch with QLD road transport on a weekend to clarify my questions and I have sent few emails to the general email, but no response.