Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Obstacle Turn (MOST) tips for a cruiser?

Discussion in 'New Riders and Riding Tips' started by Lesha, Apr 20, 2012.

1. Hi guys,

I am new to the NR and a newbie in riding, so don't kick me too hard, please :) I did a search on the topic, but there is nothing related to the cruiser-specifics.

Getting ready for my MOST and have been practicing with cones and tennis balls for a while. I do want to use my bike for the MOST, it's a Hyosung GV250 - not a full-size cruiser, but has a rather long wheelbase and weighs about 180 kilos with all crashbars in place. Overall - not too hard, U-turns and cone weave were a bit of a challenge at first, but are totally doable with a bit of a practice.

What concerns me most, is the Obstacle Turn. I either hit a cone (the one that I should pass through) or half a tennis ball in 30-40% of the attempts. I sure use counter-steering and try to lean into the turn (which is hard at this stage and usually destabilizes myself and a bike). I think my chances get better when I am slightly using the rear brake, but that affects the speed.

The fact that I hit a cone with my foot or with the side of a bike makes me think that the wheelbase has something to do with it, probably, and may be I should try to stay further from the cone on side of a turn.

Has anybody faced the same difficulties? Will highly appreciate any advice.

Thank you.

2. Firstly, welcome and good on ya for asking.

I have a friend who did his test on a spanking new Yami 650 cruiser. So it isn't impossible on a long, low cruiser. Just harder.