Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Number One Pleasure Of The Bike

Discussion in 'General Motorcycling Discussion' at netrider.net.au started by Bravus, Aug 25, 2006.

1. Thread title is pretty self-explanatory: we know that riding has lots of pleasures, but the focus of the thread is on picking and explaining (briefly) the one that is the best/most important to you.

For me, it's about focus. In the cage there's the radio on, often someone to talk to, lots of mind wandering. I think I'm a careful driver, but there's just not that singleness of focus. On the bike, with no music, nothing but the feel and sound and smell of the bike, and my awareness both opens up to take in a kind of gestalt picture of the whole world in terms of situation awareness but also narrows down to the thing I have to do right here, right now to move to the next bit...

2. Making WRX owners cry.

3. Freedom & the true smells of nature

(i must admit cow poo is a shocker though :shock: )

4. Snowy Mountains...dirt road, early morning...camp fire, bacon and eggs...NO TRAFFIC...and the freedom to get there.

5. The acceleration, just a motor and you being hurled down the road. (even on a little 250 :p )

and the smell of bbq's on every third streets when your riding around at night :grin:

6. Personal pleasure is different each day, every ride has it's merrits.
    The best thing for me at the moment, apart from all the aspects mentioned above, for me the most pleasure is received in noticing that my skills are improving.
    Everyday I notice I did something a bit better than the last time.
    I am achieving something.
    I am learning things, I am having a go, and I am good at it!

7. +1 with caz.

Learn something new everyday... gaining confidence and improving with the skills.