Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

numb hands while riding

Discussion in 'General Motorcycling Discussion' started by matchy, Jun 9, 2008.

1. hey does anyones hands get numb when they ride,mine get very numb to the point that i can't feel nothing and have to stop,i've been riding road bikes for bout 2 years and i thought it would go away because i never ride all the time now i do ride all the time and it still happens,anyone know why?
    it's ruining my rides :mad:

2. I find if i put them down my pants its warm, and fun!
    The dri-riders i have do an ok job, just keep flexing your hands and fingers at every possible opportunity. You can also buy a pair of gloves that fit inside your normal gloves, dont know how well these would work though i haven't tried mine yet.

Or drive a car.
  3. relax your hand and elbow. Dont push them against the handle bar.
  4. Quote of the week..

I bought glove liners for $10 or so and it's working fairly well for me
  5. Yes, relax, take time to shake them now and again (pull over or do so at the lights, when you get experience maybe shake out the tension one hand at a time on a straight road).

It can be contributed to by several factors:
    - trying to support your body with hands (hold onto the tank with your knees and use stomach and back muscles instead)
    - too-tight hold on the bars due to nervousness
    - vibration of the motor
    - difficulty working the throttle and levers (make sure all the controls are lubed and work smoothly without friction).
    - poor circulation due to cold, tight gloves, tension etc

It is an important issue and can lead to other painful stuff like CTS, arm pump, etc, so do look into it and if you don't find some relief then check with a doctor or physio or etc.