Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

NSW P's test tips and overview...

Discussion in 'New Riders and Riding Tips' started by Soarer, Sep 29, 2005.

1. Here's a few of my tips for the NSW P's test ... I ride a CBR250 at the moment which is quite difficult to do the U turn on, like many other sports bikes. Everything else I can do a breeze, but only get inside the lines 75% of the time on this - seems to make a huge difference if the slope is downwards (being easier) than upwards. Doing it on a CB250 is a walk in the park though...

I'm not an expert by any means, but all of this info did come from instructors... it does work for me though, and I'm only writing this up to try and help out those going for P's soon, so please be nice ;-) If there's anything incorrect or you have other suggestions, feel free to say so :)

To pass the test, you need 8 points or less. Like others have said, remember the head checks!!! [-X Write yourself a note and stick it under the screen if needs be! Point deductions for missing head checks are 3 for the first time, then 2 points for the second, and then 4 for the third, giving you 9 points and a fail. So be careful.. wasting $140 on not looking behind you 3 times would be a shame.

If you want to practice slow riding, then try this. Ride along in first, pull the clutch in so that it is still pushing the bike along, but isn't giving it full power. Then depress the back brakes, and increase your revs - you want it to sound like you're hurting the bike (but you're really not!). You should be able to rev the bike up and down without having any effect on your speed - this will all be controlled by the back brake. Try riding along and keep everything the same, then play with different amounts of pressure on the rear brake.