Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

NSW MOST - 8 test segments ??

Discussion in 'New Riders and Riding Tips' at netrider.net.au started by subabert, May 7, 2007.

  1. On the RTA website it says 'The Motorcycle Operator Skill Test (MOST) consists of eight test segments.... etc etc'

    I downloaded the test guide and it only details 4 test scenarios,
    Left turn and stop in the box
    Cone weave and U-turn
    Obstacle turn

    I don't understand what it means by '8 segments'

    Is there another 4 segments that aren't detailed?
    Or is it just those 4 tests and from it they assess you on 8 areas in total.

  2. Its just those tests.
  3. Left turn and stop in the box
    Cone weave and U-turn
    Obstacle turn

    this is how they're run (the first four are run together...)

    so, in order of the test...

    1. left turn &
    2. stop in the box
    3. cone weave &
    4. U-turn
    5. Braking
    6. Obstacle turn
  4. and then a road ride which yuou need to point oput hazards at each stop

    so i guess that would make 8 road ride
    hazard perception
  5. Nah..
    The last two are the:

    7. Jump over the pit of death
    8. Wing mirror roulette

    Just remember to headcheck.
  6. As Albury is a 'non declared' area I didn't have to do a pre learner course before getting my Learner's permit; for those of you in a similar situation to me, did you have to do the MOST test to get your P's or was there a different test?

  7. pm charmedson2 he was in the same boat as you and recently done his p's he is from muwala
  8. Thanks, I shall do.