Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

[NSW] am i up s*** creek without a paddle?

Discussion in 'Politics, Laws, Government & Insurance' at netrider.net.au started by WeeBubba, Aug 29, 2010.

1. got a bit of a conundrum here and would appreciate some advice

on the very morning of my MOST test i received a speeding ticket (<= 10km/k over limit 1 pt $90) on my bike i was on L plates. so now im reading that i might get banned for 3 months. jeepers. do i get banned from the car as well? ive been driving for 20 years and this is my first ever ticket it seems a bit harsh. can i not upgrade to P plates now? do i have to redo the MOST test? 8-[ bit confused the RTA website is a bit ambiguous.

2. Re: am i up s*** creek without a paddle?

You will be suspended for 3 months on your bike, not on your car license unless you had enough points that this would get you over the line (I'm not sure if you get the extra points on your car license ie 3 instead of the 1)

I'd not mention the speeding ticket, suspensions take months to process. Try and get your license with your MOST certificate and see if they mention it. It may come up on the computer if your bike is registered in your name..

Seems like you've got reallllly bad luck. The speeding penalties for L/P1 platers is ridiculous...

3. Re: am i up s*** creek without a paddle?

If you got the ticket TODAY, go and get to the RTA to upgrade your license TOMORROW, their system for sunday and saturday tickets likely won't update until midnight Monday.

4. Re: am i up s*** creek without a paddle?

ill go down the rta tomorrow mornin and see what happens. bit of a nightmare really.

5. Re: am i up s*** creek without a paddle?