Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

[NSW] Accident not at fault can't do anything

Discussion in 'Politics, Laws, Government & Insurance' started by 80SafeLuck, Jul 15, 2009.

1. Hello All, I been reading this forum for quite a while, just something happened recently that may be worth to share. And I try to keep it short and and leave the boring details for later.

I had been riding my scooter for 2 years and done 20000+km on it.

One day riding to work, riding in 80kmh zone, I still check left side street with stop sign and didn't see anything. But last moment got hit by a large black car by someone on overseas license, with no Australian licence.

Could sustained worse injury or killed, but 80kmh crash only ended up with cuts and bruises. [ask me if want details]

But couldnt do anything after crash, medical personnel said it was as precaution.

After accident is when nightmare really starts. Now 3 weeks later police finally said the large black car at fault and not much evidence for them to work with, even it was morning peak.

With injuries they are minor and I am recovering ok. On way to work it was covered by Work Cover. Knew I could claim through the other driver CTP but that probably going to be more nightmare.

From now on I will GET COMPREHENSIVE for my scooter, because I only got CTP and seem can't do much with damage to my scooter (Total loss), helmet, towing charges, etc. I Couldn't do anything after accident, the next day Police ONLY gave me the other car's number plate and the driver's name with overseas license.

From there I can't get anything including owner's details, the other car Non-CTP insurer details, etc. Tried asking police, legal advice, RTA and even lawyers all in vain.