Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Not a new rider, but developing new issues...

Discussion in 'New Riders and Riding Tips' started by devonuto, Jul 10, 2007.

1. I've been riding on the road now for about 3 years, and last winter I laid my GIXAR6 down after giving a little too much throttle on cold tires mid corner trying to impress the friends. But ever since then (several thousand dollars later) I've found myself more and more wary about leaning the bike over too far.

I say this because if you look at my tyres, there is about an inch and a half of unused rubber which suggests I rarely lean the bike over far enough to actually use the whole tyre.

Previously I was a lot more keen (and comfortable) to take corners and the sort of speeds that would see me scuffing the toe of my shoe on the road from time to time, but of late have been overly cautious. So basically I was wondering if anyone else has gone through something like this, and what they did to get over it?

Another thing I've noticed is that I'm still not as comfortable on left turns as I am on right handers. I think it has something to do with when turning left (especially in traffic) you are constantly looking back over your right shoulder for merging cars, which in turn has taught me to stop turning my left shoulder into the turn as much, and I'm also not shifting my weight off the bike as much when going left.

Any tips would be nice as this has been annoying me for a while now, and is making my riding less enjoyable. I suppose if all else fails, I could go do an advanced riding course?