Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Northern Rivers to Melbourne route?

Discussion in 'Roads, Touring, Journeys, and Travel' started by Cris, Aug 16, 2014.

1. I'm riding from Lismore to Melbourne in the 1st week of October. It's more functional than a tour -- aim is to get to Melbourne preferably in one piece, and get some km under my novice riding belt. I'm not in a hurry, but nor do I want to add the expense of too many overnights (not camping on this trip). I think 3 days riding will be nice and relaxed, though I'm open to adding to that either for a nicer route, or on the way to avoid terrible weather etc.

I'd like a scenic route with relatively light traffic, but technical riding per se is not an aim (as I say, I'm a novice). I think I'll take the New England Highway to Tamworth. If I was driving, I'd just go west from there to Coonabarabran, then South along the Newell (Dubbo, Forbes, West Wyalong etc). Last time I went that way traffic was pretty light, despite the Newell's reputation for heavy trucking, but it's a bit dull south of the Pillaga.

Would appreciate any thoughts.
  2. It's a big ride, just before anybody comments on routes. whats the maximum distance you have ridden in a day so far?
  3. @cjvfr@cjvfr - You're right, it's a long ride. The mitigating factor given my inexperience is that I do have time over the next few weeks to put in plenty of longer rides. Also I ride pretty slowly (my cornering would probably amuse the more experienced among you), and am content to do so for now. On future similar trips I would camp, but think an easy night's rest between days riding would be my best bet for now.