Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

normal fuel consumption?

Discussion in 'Bling and Appearance' at netrider.net.au started by enzise, Oct 15, 2006.

1. since owning the across i have filled up 4 times each time costing $10-$12, i ride it till the red light comes on and that is at aprox 120km/s. so im not good at maths but we can say i get about 120km/s for aprox 11litres petrol.

does this sound like there is a problem, the bike is is fine condition runs smoothly, so not to sure.

2. Thats about 9L/100km. Which is alright for a car.

For bikes, esp a 250, should be closer to 4, if its older/you're heavy, maybe 5.

3. My other half gets about 170'ks around town and maybe 180k's in the country before the red light comes on...and she's not light on the throttle :twisted: ...if your onlt getting 120k's out of it before the red light i would be looking into getting it checked out..as it's pretty low compared to how it should be

4. im getting under 4 for my 1983 VT maybe more if i got of the throttle a bit. :twisted:

5. It seems pretty low to me, you really should just crunch the numbers though.

Every time you fill up, try to fill to the same point, take note of the K's on the trip meter (reset it every time you fuill up) and the number of litres.

Then do the numbers to work out km/l, l/100km or MPG.

My FJ gets 43 (5.5 l/100km) mpg on the highway, and about 38 (6) on average in town/highway.

MickyB's vtr gets like 70 (3.3!!!) mpg round town. That's very approximate though, I didn't have much data to work that out.

You really should be landing somewhere between 4 and 6 I'd think.