Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

noob's review on a GS500F

Discussion in 'Bike Reviews, Questions and Suggestions' started by msjrules03, Sep 2, 2011.

1. It seems that alot of reviews are done by experienced riders, which is great they know more than the average learner, but at the same time they have ridden non learner legal bikes and higher CC bikes so they dont have the same experience as an average learner

i thought i would share my experiences between my Hyosung GT250 and my GS500F

I am not a pro rider, i am not the best at cornering,i am not the best at speeding, but then again what learner is.

In the review i will be using my Hyosung 250 as a reference if anyone has a 250 and is thinking of getting a bigger CC engine for their P's.

There is only a 2hour difference between when i rode the bikes, so there is no experince difference between the bikes

On the hyosung I was not very confident cornering, whether it was because I didnt trust my hyosung bike completely or the unconfortable position on the Hyosung. I would slow down quite a bit for coners and would feel "unsafe" doing it. The GS500F was completely different however, i think knowing that the Bike had been around for 20years and is proven to be a good engine made me relax more on the bike, within the 1st 20mins of riding it i was doing 15KM/H around corners quicker, i felt alot more confortable riding and cornering. The hyosung probably isnt bad at handling, but if you dont trust your bike then I guess you cant handle it well. The GS500F was very forgiving unlike the Hyosung, I purposly made mistakes on the GS500F as no one was around if i went into thr wrong lane, and its amazing how well it reacts to the OH SHIT moments. Great confidence building which is key for learners