Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Noobie needs help with first bike and questions

Discussion in 'Bike Reviews, Questions and Suggestions' started by revz, Mar 28, 2010.

1. Hello all,
    I am new to NR and just got my L's about 2 weeks ago. I am now trying to get my first bike and although I do like fully faired bikes, I do understand that I will most likely drop it some time in the near future. In addition I also read that insurance is usually much more expensive for faired bikes compared to naked bikes, especially for learners. Which is why although I considered some of the 250cc faired sports bike (cbr250's,ninja 250r's and zzr250 mainly) at the start, I am now also considering second hand naked bikes (VTR250's mainly). As for riding I would like to ride from city to uni along Monash freeway (VIC), around city and probably for some day rides (if I manage to find a time lol) once I get my confidence high enough. Will 250cc bikes suit my riding purposes? Or would I need something larger? Also will larger bikes such be much harder to learn on compared to 250cc bikes? I have also read up on oggy knobs that will protect the bike when it is dropped. Are these effective in protecting the fairing when the bike is dropped? I am 19 years old (turning 20 soon if it makes a difference) and approximately 180cm tall and weigh 90 or 95kgs. Any recommendations within the bikes I have mentioned just now? And ofcourse I am still open to all other recommendations.
    Thanks in advance for all the input!

2. when you say bigger bike i assume that means vic has lams?

If so then get a bigger capacity bike from the get go, perhaps a naked hyo650 or a old ducati monster (preferred by me).