Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Noobie mistake....now have to fix bike

Discussion in 'New Riders and Riding Tips' at netrider.net.au started by ewok2000, Jul 8, 2007.

1. Made a noobie mistake today.

Turning left onto a 2 way street, saw a car in my lane about to turn right (car was in the wrong lane trying to avoid congestion).

Grabbed a gobful of front brake while turning. Bike went down, rider OK.

Car drove around me and turned right anyway without slowing down.

Damage?
    1) Really bent clutch lever, can only use two fingers on it
    2) Gear change pedal pushed up right against the body (managed to pull it out a bit before I started riding again)
    3) Mirror very wonky and won't stay still.

No other damage or scratches. Mental note to self, need to practice emergency braking as per course instructions (straighten handlebars, then brake!!!)

New bike, less than 1000km, second drop (sigh!).

Anybody have any idea how to fix and how much the cost is? I live in the Inner West (Five Dock) in Sydney. I need to fix in a couple of weeks as my MOST test is 2 weekends away.

Thanks

2. save yourself any chance of breaking bits trying to straigghten them out, go to your nearest honda dealer and buy the clutch lever and gear shift as after market parts, as for the mirror, which bit is moving, is it the ball parts that the actual mirror is attached to, or is it wear it bolts up the the bars?

3. Bad luck champ,

And what an idiot of a driver! if you didnt brake and then hit him, he would have been in the shit and even though you did brake and fell he just kept going! low life!

My brake leaver cost about $25 for the cbr and i did the work myself, donno about your situation tho. But shouldn't be to much