Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

1. Hi all,

Just a quick introduction: I'm a noob here (and on the roads in NSW, although with a full car license).

Thanks for all the tips people have been giving in this forums!

A little story for all to laugh at or pity:

I had just passed my L's a couple of weeks ago. It went pretty smoothly for me - no dropped bikes, no scrapped knees, not even a stall...

At the advice of some of my friends and colleagues who ride regularly (read: commute daily), I went ahead and bought a spanking new Suzuki GS500F after some research on the 'net (good position, higher up than a CBR250, slightly more natural position leaning forward than the CB250s). Bought the correct gear with the lot (good helmet, gloves, Draggin' Jeans, jacket, spine protector, knee pads - hey, I'm paranoid).

Took delivery of the bike on Monday, as the store was closing. The staff were nice enough to show me the workings (cool that the turn signal indicators are "momenterary switches" that get cancelled with a inward push). I suited up, but was nervous as all hell.

Put gloves on. Forgot to put on helmet. Took gloves off [edited]. Put helmet on. Put gloves on. Mounted bike (it was already started). Lifted kick stand. Still in neutral, changed footing to put left foot down, right foot on brake just for a feel.

Unfortunately, the bike was sideways (rear to kerb) on an incline. The bike leaned a little, and I wasn't prepared for the weight. To cut the story short, the bike went down, with traffic right in front of me. Worst still was that as it was going down, my hands were still on the handle bar - and I revved the bike trying to grip the thing upright.