Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Noob in Mosman

Discussion in 'Welcome Lounge' started by IdunBrokditAgin, Jan 5, 2012.

1. Hi All - just joined the site and thought I'd introduce myself.

Recently moved to Sydney from Wellington (lived there for 6 years - I'm a pom who moves around a bit). Got into riding while in NZ about 3 years ago (awesome roads over there).
    Have owned a couple of bikes: Honda Hornet 250; Triumph Street Triple and just bought a Kawasaki Ninja 1000 - my first ozzie bike.

Anyway I'm new to Sydney and looking to meet some locals to show me the good roads around here. Only currently using the bike to get to and from the girlfriends place and the occasional commute into the cbd (bloody lanes are thin in sydney though - makes lanesplitting a bit of an art).

I'd class myself as a competent, not experienced, rider - never got my knee down even though I've done a few trackdays.
    Little spill (back in NZ) after hitting diesel mid corner fecked up my cornering confidence for a wee while but keen to get into some good cornering now I have a bike again.

Happy to go on social rides or mid paced - just want to find the good roads and meet some other bike people.

Also have a few mates who are making rumblings about getting into bikes so would be interested in any learner friendly rides.

Finally, as my new bike is the first I've had with adjustable suspension I'd be keen to learn the knack of setting it up properly from someone with the knowledge (can pay with beers).

2. Good riding around Wellington, or did you go further afield?
  3. Yup both, Rimutakas are only 30 mins away from welly, plus loads of good little roads if you know where to find them (Makara etc).