Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Noob here

Discussion in 'Welcome Lounge' started by mexiwi, Oct 6, 2013.

1. Hi

New rider here - well, in the process.

Rode farm bikes as a kid, little bit on the road as a teen but never got a licence, now at 42 decided to do it for real.

Jumped on a bike last year in the Philippines (did this as a kid, cant be too hard.......), plonked the gf on the back and drove thru a fence.

Having licked my emotional wounds I decided to get back on the horse and did a learners course at Armstrongs in Thomastown the other week and really enjoyed it - no fences this time.

So now looking around for the gear and a bike.

Both proving to be not as easy as I hoped.

I am a big unit at 6'4 and 140kg.

So finding gear is challenging. I need to try a few more ones - Dririder 6xl is tight around my fat guts. Found a Joe rockets 3xl jacket at AMX that fitted around my round bit but the arms were super loose, and didnt feel firm - the armour was moving around heaps.

I'll try a few more but can see me just biting the bullet and going custom.

Bike wise I am looking at something like GSX650F - but haven't sat on one yet - GS500 felt too small - as did some of the nekkid bikes. CF moto 650NK seems a bit bigger frame wise, although Chinese may be ok for a year or so.

Not keen on dirt bikes - it will be a weekend bike for me, I work away so don't need to commute on it.

But have had a good read so far and there seems to be plenty of advice.

Already learned a new acronym too :)
  2. Welcome to NR ! Fences eh ? Try to avoid those , not good for the health - destroyed my Fireblade doing that (out riding with only 5hrs sleep in 2 days - lesson learned )
  3. Awesome. Do it (y)