Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Noob braking and ABS

Discussion in 'New Riders and Riding Tips' started by Bill M, Mar 4, 2013.

1. Hi all,

Still very much a total noob with all-things bikage. Taking it slowly, but pushing my skills each and every time I ride. Have had my bike for three weeks now, made it to only one Saturday Learner session, but had other commitments and had to bail - so thought I'd ask here and now :)

I've got a 2003 BMW F650cs Scarver with ABS fitted. I feel pretty comfortable with it, and each time I take her out for a ride, I make a point of practicing braking and slow stuff. This weekend I went a little further and really grabbed the front brake - and didn't skid, drop or any other bad stuff!

Most of my practicing is done in an empty car park near home, so there's not a lot of speed there, but I was able to pretty much go full-brake without any issues. No shuddering, no slipping, no nothing except a whole lot of stoppage! Very impressed. Took it onto a nearby industrial road and tested it with some more speed, and although I'm not purposefully trying to engage the ABS or do anything other than stop safely in the shortest possible time, I still would have thought there'd be more slip or squiggle.

So my question is two fold;

- Is ABS the blessing from the gods it initially appears to be? And/or are there limitations I need to be awarea of? (assuming there are some, I'm keen to know what they are)

- How much of a disadvantage might I be at if/when I ride a bike without ABS? Is it vastly different - and to what extent?

• Like Like x 1