Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Non-LAMS 250-500cc

Discussion in 'Bike Reviews, Questions and Suggestions' started by gofoe, Aug 11, 2014.

1. Hey all.
    I'm currently on a VTR250 and researching new bikes to upgrade to since my LAMS period is almost up. That being said, I'm a student (and will be for the next couple of years) so I'm looking for something within the 250 - 500cc power range (economy and insurance price related), and isn't a LAMS bike (they seem to be inflated in price). Naked, sports and cruisers are fine. Budget is roughly 4-6k.

Do these even exist? Haha.

Thanks guys.

2. What's wrong with the VTR, have you outgrown its potential or just time for a new toy ?
  3. I think that you will find that most bikes within the range that you have specified will be LAMS.
  4. I don't think non lams bikes have inflated prices. I think u should go and take a cbr600 f4i for a ride. U can get a really nice one in your budget. Simply awesome road bike
  5. You could look for an Aprillia RS250.

Oh, sorry, you said you wanted economy.

Again, sorry, you want a new one...
    • Like Like x 1
  6. RS125, RS250, RGV250, RZ500, RG500, NSR250/400 will all be collectors items gathering dust in a museum before to long.....
    Gone almost forever will be the glorious days of that wicked powerband, special exhaust note, and acrid smoke filling the garage of a morning......:cry::cry::cry::cry::cry::cry::cry::cry::cry:
    • Like Like x 2
  7. He's looking under 500cc for insurance and rego. Don't know whats below 500cc that's not LAMS.
  8. The only non LAMS options sub 650cc are the old two stroke terrors (in road bikes) and a few of the two stroke enduros.