Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

VIC Noise Levels???

Discussion in 'Politics, Laws, Government & Insurance' started by ckdt15, Apr 6, 2011.

1. Hi all, I am new to the forum and have a question.

I have been riding since November 2010 and am on my probationary license. I ride a Ducati 400ss which I purchased from Peter Stevens and is on the LAMS list (even though every officer who has pulled me over has told me it is not)

On one of my rides I was pulled over, for around the fourth time since I have had the bike to be told once again that I am not able to ride the bike on my probationary license, after explaining and showing them a LAMS list which i now keep a copy of on my phone they tested the bike for several things and concluded that it was too loud.
    I have just received the letter in the mail saying that unless I go and remedy the noise level of my bike within the month then I will be taken to court???

My question is this. My motorcycle has no custom pipes and was bought as is from Peter Stevens! It is loud for a LAMS bike however is nowhere near as loud as any harley or higher powered ducati etc etc... on the road. Therefore what am I to do, they are telling me I have to pay to go have the bike tested when it has already passed its compliance and roadworthy less than four months ago????
    Should I take it to Peter Stevens and ask them why they sold me an un-roadworthy bike?

Any help is much appreciated. Thanks

2. Welcome to the wonderful world of Victoria Police motorcycle harrassment.

There's a good chance that nothing is wrong with your bike (athough you never know with Ducatis ;)), but the system allows the police to continually force you to get your bike re-tested at your expense.