Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

No protective gear besides helmet?

Discussion in 'General Motorcycling Discussion' started by Caz no 2, Oct 24, 2012.

1. From our ride up to the Gold Coast, I was surprised by the lack of gear being worn. Bare arms, shorts, thongs and no gloves.

Since I started riding I have been taught to not get on without helmet, jacket, Kevlar pants, boots and gloves.

Is this just a Victorian and NSW thing????

I could not justify not wearing gear, just incase.
  2. [​IMG]
    • Like Like x 48
  3. Really? Do we have to go through this again.
    I'm ATGATT but that is a personal decision only. I'd be more concerned with what else is happening on the road than checking out what riders are wearing.
  4. It's the Gold Coast - ice makes you invulnerable.
  5. I am embarrassed if I am not wearing my proper clothing... it's like other motorcyclists will be judging me... haha.

But if I am late for uni, it's a very hot day... I will wear regular jeans, helmet and gloves
    • Like Like x 1
  6. you might realise quite soon that its ****ing hot in queensland.

Wear whatever gear you like, somedays im in a race suit, some days im in skinny jeans and a jacket, somedays im in shorts and t shirt, it depends on conditions, how im feeling and where im riding too and when.

Kevlar jeans are also the biggest load of shit to hit motorcycling ever.
    • Like Like x 4
  7. Grrrrrrrrrrrrrr! that is all!
  8. Damn right. Nothing beats the protective power of the cardigan. Anything made since then has all just been a load of shit.
    • Like Like x 4
  9. Concentrate on the road and your riding than what other riders are wearing. There are enough gifted individuals out there on the road who swear by the "oops, didn't see the motorcycle" notion.