Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

No power

Discussion in 'Technical and Troubleshooting Torque' started by Tiga, Mar 18, 2005.

1. I've bought an RS250 a about a month ago and all has been going well until last night. It's started fine and seemed to run fine but as soon as I tried to get up the hill out of my garage it becoame clear that I wasn't getting any power. Instead of just using a touch of throttle I was able to open it right up and still nothing happened. It would start to rev higher and then struggle. Fuel was low so I switched to reserve and ran it for a while but this didn't help. By the time I gave up on going anywhere I had to keep the throttle on just to keep the engine going. Has anyone got any suggestions - I'm new to bikes so could be missing something obvious

2. Hard to tell without looking at it but it sounds like you ran out of gas then when you switched to reserve it got some crap in the carbs (I never use reserve for that very reason).

Try filling it up with Premium, chucking some methol in it (in case the prob is water related) then give it damn good thrasing it....that might work (or blow it up, one or the other). :p

3. Maybe check the oil in the oil tank (these are two strokes, aren't they?)

:?:

4. Several things come to mind.
    Fouled plugs, bad fuel, fuel blockage.
    Plugs are common failings on 2 strokes when left to sit a while or running poor fuel/oil mix.

Suggest refill the tank, clean the plugs and run for a few minutes using whatever technique you need and hope it clears itself.

best of luck,

5. that's a helluva bike to start on !

6. 2 strokes are great eh :LOL: