Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

no photos here, but transporting slr on my bike?

Discussion in 'Luggage' started by rvpkash, Aug 5, 2010.

1. I'm not 100% sure where to post this, so mods feel free to move it.

I just got my first bike (2000 kawa zzr 250) and am realising that i'd like to go for rides to some destination and take photos.

Does anyone do this? I guess i'd be looking for a bag thats secure and can carry all my kit properly. But i'm a student so it'd have to be cheap.. Could I just strap my existing camera bag on to my bike somehow?
    it's similar to this one

My kit that i would like to take with me would be
    canon 450d
    17-55 f/2.8
    maybe 580exii but can do without
    and would love to take my tripod..

any ideas or solutions?
  2. I have a Nikon D90 with a 35mm f1.8 prime, a 50mm f1.8 prime, a 18-200 zoom, a flash and sundry other stuff in a Lowpro Nova 190 bag.

It fits nicely into a Ventura rally pack rack bag or most standard size top boxes.
  3. 1 word

lowepro is king

ok 3 :)
  4. i have lowepro sling bag and it works a treat with canon d450 + 2 lenses with heaps more room for other shite
  5. Pez - do you just wear the sling?

im not sure if i can spring for a rally pack at this stage.

how about a tank bag?
  6. Beware of carrying cameras on bikes. Vibration is your camera's enemy (sad experience talking)
  7. It all depends on what gear you have want to take I have use a selection of bags I like think tank the most are available in australia through l&p in sydney
    when off to a sports event would take 2x bodies 300 2.8 and 70-200 and something wide
    so would use http://www.thinktankphoto.com/products/streetwalker-pro-backpack.aspx
    also have
    when traveling by plane