Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

no idea what to do :(

Discussion in 'New Riders and Riding Tips' started by ageg, Aug 25, 2011.

1. Hey peeps,

I recently got my motorbike license and purchased a fzr600 off a friend of mine a few months a go due to it being cheap. I have had little or no knowledge of motorbikes up until i started visiting these forums after getting my bike license.

After a few discussions with people and asking some people on here i have found out that the fzr is not learner legal, my mate at the time told me that it was legal and that becuase of its weight it was ok to ride. After finding out it is not learner legal and finally purchasing all my motorbike gear and ready to ride, recently discovering this about the bike kind of shitted me lol.

So, now this is where i need some help in what to do. Should i just keep the fzr and buy a 250 and ride it around till im off my learners? or sell the fzr and purchase a ok 250 until im ready to move onto a bigger bike?. Also, what kind of market value am i looking at for the fzr if i were to sell it or maybe even swap it with someone that wants a bigger bike??. I dont really have the money at the moment to go out and spend another few thousand on a bike so im kind of stuck in a rutt.

Any advice would be greatly appreciated,

2. Well, IMHO you've kind of answered this for yourself. If you can only afford one bike, and can't legally ride the one you have, it seems that the only option available is to sell it and buy a learner-legal bike.

That's what I would do anyway.
  3. mmmm .... fzr600 ... are you in Vic? :D (oops, just noticed, yes you are)

I'd suggest selling it unless you can afford to hang onto it along with another bike.