Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Ninja 250R or Ninja 650RL ?

Discussion in 'Bike Reviews, Questions and Suggestions' started by David92115, Sep 18, 2011.

1. Hello everyone,

Getting bike license in few months (gotta save up first) and i been searching all over the place for a good first bike (must be LAMs approved) but i cant decide if should go with 650 or the 250 ninja.. i have got some experience on trail bikes but not with sports bikes and i want a bike that has plenty of power that wont kill me, sporty look, and isn't considered a girls bike (aka 250 ninja lol) and must be LAMs approved for NSW.

p.s dont even know if 650RL is even approved LAMs.. is it?

any help?
  2. I'm not sure if the LAMS list is different in NSW, but the 650RL is LAMS in Vic. I owned a Ninja 250 for a few weeks, boring bike. I'd go for the 650RL.
  3. the Ninja 650RL is approved but is that the same as a 650R, whats the difference between them and im only 5ft 7.. will i even be able to sit on a 650R with flat foot on ground..

P.s NSW LAMs List
  4. Well if you can justify the cost for a little extra oomph for your learner bike, then go for it. If you want to save a bit of money, the 250R is (obviously) the cheaper of the two and can still provide much enjoyment. I own one and was able to keep up with some bigger bikes around the twisties today (although the straight sections were not even worth trying lol).

Also go and sit on either of them, and see which one is more comfortable for you.
  5. The Ninja 650R is the full-powered version (don't buy this).
    The Ninja 650RL is the restricted-power LAMS compliant version (buy this).

If you have motorcycling experience then the 250 is not going to be enough.