Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Ninja 250R gear shifting issue

Discussion in 'Technical and Troubleshooting Torque' started by Ebathory, Apr 18, 2013.

1. Hi all,

I'm having some issues with a 2012 Ninja 250r. Bike is a bit over a year old and done around 5000km. I'm the only owner and have had the first service completed at 1000kms.

Basically having issues shifting between 1st and 2nd gear. This problem started a good few months ago but was only occurring rarely so I put it down to user error (I'm a noob!) However it is now happening every time I ride the bike so I'm pretty sure it's mechanical. When I go to change gears the lever seems a bit softer than usual (floppy) and although I give it a firm lift with my foot it doesn't engage. I have to release the shifter completely and repeat the process which always works the second time around. Doesn't occur between any other gears although in the last month I've had the bike drop into neutral a couple of times when in 2nd or 3rd gear.

After doing some reading online I thought it might be a bent selector fork, although it seems that this would cause errors each time I shift in and out of the affected gear?

Bike has been dropped, bent the gear lever but replaced it myself with a new one, this happened the day after I brought it home though so not sure if this could be related as was a good 6-8 months before I started having any problems? Have checked all the parts I replaced all bolts are still tight and appear in good condition.

Hope I've included all the necessary info, any suggestions would be greatly appreciated! Cheers.
  2. Isnt the bike still under warranty?