Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Night issues

Discussion in 'New Riders and Riding Tips' started by Tiga, Jun 28, 2005.

1. I’m interested in hearing about other people’s experiences with night time riding. Here’s my situation – I’ve been riding for 4 months and have been generally happy with my riding during the day, in the rain, in the wind, on twisty roads etc. But sometimes at night I don’t think I ride so well. I don’t have problems when I’m alone on Yarra Blvd (but then I put my high beams on and I know the road). It’s more on roads where there’s lot’s of traffic that also have their lights on. I live in the city so that’s pretty much everywhere other than Yarra Blvd. Several times in moderate/heavy traffic I’ve found myself wondering if my lights are even on (they have been).

I never had this issue when learning to drive, maybe I’m just being overly sensitive about cars I can’t see properly, maybe I notice the effects of tiredness and get frustrated because it's an internally generated riding constraint as opposed to an external/environmental one, maybe it’s my imagination :? Has anyone else had a similar experience?

BTW - The lights were adjusted last service, 3 mths ago, so I’m assuming they’re ok?
  2. I'm not fond of riding at night in built up, heavy traffic areas. I don't think my eyesight is as good as it used to be, and all the lights can be a bit daunting/dazzling sometimes.
  3. Not a fan of night riding, especially in built up areas. The extra ambient makes it difficult and my eyesight's not what it used to be (something to do with advancing years)

I must confess to wondering if my lights are on sometimes too. Guess it's just usual caution PLUS.