Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Next bike now I'm off restrictions

Discussion in 'Bike Reviews, Questions and Suggestions' at netrider.net.au started by Wigan Warrior, Mar 19, 2012.

1. I'm off restrictions and am looking for suggestions for my next bike. I'm looking for a 650cc plus sports-tourer motorcycle and was wondering if anyone has any suggestions.

I currently have a GS500F that has served me well and has a comfortable riding position for me. I want something with a little more poke (not too much, I'm still new to this game!) that has a similar riding position, passenger space and able to fit a rack and bag. I often pick up my daughter from school, so passenger space/position is important.

I commute daily (30km each way) and rarely do anything over 100km rides. I'd prefer a lightly faired bike and with a screen.

The budget is up to $10,000 new or low km ex-demo.

Oh yeah, I'm a 'big boned' guy so would like something that can cope with the load (150kg ish with myself, daughter and luggage).

The new 2012 kawasaki ninja 650 abs and the yamaha f26r/fz8s look nice, but not had the chance to ride.

Thanks....

2. Be wary with recent FZ6ers, they are essentially rebadged XJ600s I found out recently. Pre 2007 are the genuine articles though IIRC, no doubt a Nerdrider will correct me on this if I'm wrong. Yamaha fazed (pun intended) out the FZ6 in favour of the bigger FZ8s and switched up LAMS compliant XJs as the "new" FZ6. I've just bought a second hand FZ8N (the naked) and given your requirements I'd definitely go for the FZ8 rather than a 600. I actually saw a FZ8 (light fairing) with very low kilometres and immaculate condition at the same place for less than 10K, about 9.5k I think, PM if you want the details.