Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

News: Honda Teams Aim For 10th Consecutive Suzuka 8-Hours Vi

Discussion in 'Motorcycling News' at netrider.net.au started by ForumBot, Jul 29, 2006.

  1. Team HRC go into the 2006 edition of the prestigious Suzuka 8 Hours chasing a record breaking 10th consecutive victory. HRC will enter two Seven Star liveried CBR1000RRW machines in the gruelling high speed-event at the 5.824km circuit.

    ... more

    This is an automated posting of a new news item added to Netrider News by Netrider.
  2. A race in which Australia has a rich and glorious history

    Quote from roadracingworld.com

    The Suzuka 8 Hour was first held in 1978, and became a part of the fledgling Endurance World Championship in 1980. A year before that, Honda-backed Australian pairing, Mick Cole and Tony Hatton, claimed the honours.

    It was then a six-year wait before an Australian rider again emerged with the spoils - Wayne Gardner in 1985 on Honda’s then all-conquering RVF750 Formula One machine. Gardner then defended his title the next year, before another imperious two-year stretch in 1991-92.

    In an era where Australia’s 500cc GP riders regularly took time out from their busy schedules to race in the 8 Hour, Kevin Magee (1987-88), Mick Doohan (1991) and Daryl Beattie (1992) also won the event. Moreover, former New Zealand great Graeme Crosby dominated the 1980 event on a Suzuki.

    Honda hasn’t been defeated in the 8 Hour since 1996, when Colin Edwards and Noriyuki Haga won on a Yamaha. In all, Honda has 20 wins, ahead of Yamaha (four), Suzuki (two) and Kawasaki (one).