Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Newby from Quebec - Canada

Discussion in 'Welcome Lounge' started by marylene, Mar 19, 2010.

1. Hi !

First : sorry if my english is not perfect, in Quebec, we speek french :)

Little bit about me : I have a supermoto yamaha wr250x 2008. The gouvernement here is trying to remove all the bikes from the road so if we have a bike that they classified ''ss'' like gsxr ou yzf or cbr or zx... even if it's an old bike, it cost 1410$ per year and we can't drive it in the winter because of the snow. The solution is to take a little bike 400cc or less, so it's cheaper !

I've been riding for 3 years now, I had a kawasaki 750 94 and a 92.

My boyfriend and I are tinking to move in australia, we just start talking about it so we don't know in which part to go. Of course, we want good road and to be near racing track. We were thinkig to go near Melbourne... but is there realy a lot of rain day ? I saw some stats that say 10 to 18 day of rain per months... is that true ?

Hope to see you one day :), since there I will continue to read you

2. Hi, Welcome.

I lived in Calgary before coming to Melboure, and I look at the locals with amusement when they complain about the weather in Melbourne. In winter time, it'll be like 12 degrees and people complain about "freezing" weather.

As far as # of rain days go, you might get a dozen rainy days in a month during the worst time of the year, but it's often in very short bursts, and not enough to prevent one from riding year round.

As far as the best twisty roads go, people keep on telling me that Tasmania is the place to be, though I haven't been there myself.