Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Newbie starting mid-life crisis early

Discussion in 'Welcome Lounge' started by CaffeineMonster, Oct 26, 2015.

1. Hi, name's Andrew and am a complete Newbie (just got learner's today) save for many years as a pillion pirate. Q-ride on the weekend then the fun / terror begins, along with buying a bike that is.

BTW, is there a glossary about covering all the acronyms showcased here?
  2. Welcome Andrew, don't know about a glossary. I suppose some of the more common are:

ATGATT - All The Gear All The Time, people who religiously wear all protective gear.
    SMIDSY - Sorry Mate I didn't See You, the claim made be a cager after colliding with you because they were texting, updating their facebook page, changing their music etc.
    SIAM - Smidsy Incident Avoidance Manoeuvre, A road move intended to draw attention to yourself and thus avoid a Smidsy.
    Cager - A car driver.
  3. Welcome, Andrew.

What kind of bike are you intending to buy?
    What kind of riding do you see yourself doing?

Check out Motorcycle Ergonomics when thinking about the above questions.
  4. Hey Mick,

Falling in love with the Ducati Monster, shall have to ride it first and few others to see if is right or not - the heart is a fickle beast though and shall be hard to tell it no if it's not right. Hopefully, she fits like your favourite pair of jeans though.

Riding shall mainly be for fun and we'll see about commuting later on. Thx for link - shall have a look.
    • Like Like x 1
  5. how do you like a post?
  6. welcome aboard :]
  7. I hope the training and bike buying goes well. Welcome aboard.
  8. thx Bumblebeeman.

I see you're listed for Brissy as a mentor. How does that work?