Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Newbie questions

Discussion in 'New Riders and Riding Tips' started by Madness, Aug 20, 2007.

1. Hello everyone.

Please forgive me if any of these questions have been asked before, I have had a quick look and couldn't find too much. Anyway, I am new to getting a bike and just want a few Q's answered by all you experts if you wouldn't mind.

I have been looking at bikes this week. Leaning towards the Kwaka GPX250, but I also like the Honda CBR250. Someone mentioned to me that the CBR was a "grey import". Not knowing much about the grey imports. Would it be that much of a risk getting one of those sorts of bikes? If so, what is the risk?

Which dealers in Melbourne (City and West/Nth West) would be the most reputable? As I haven't bought a bike before, I don't want to go somewhere where I may be ripped off completely. I've read up on here the tips for buying used bikes, so have a general idea. But just need a good dealer to look after me.

With the used bikes, what's the best KM's to look at? as in, what is too much mileage? I saw a kwaka GPX250 with 16000kms the other day, I think it was a 2005 model (only think this because all the bikes in the same colour I have seen on the net were 2005 models) and it was $4500. Is that a good deal??

Again I am sorry if I have asked many Q's which have been answered. It is hard coming to a new site and trying to navigate around. BTW, im a chick and just got my L's two weeks ago.

2. Well, oh demented one, first of all, welcome the Netrider, where madness is a pre-requisite :LOL:

I haven't bought a 250 or my first bike for 33 years, so I'll leave the recent wisdom to the recent experts :).