Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Newbie question about servicing advice and costs

Discussion in 'Bling and Appearance' started by pmacleod, Dec 17, 2007.

1. Hi All,

I'm new at this whole bike thing, so bear with me :grin:

I took my 16 month old GS500F to Action at Parramatta today, to get a weeping front fork seal looked at and a general post-purchase checkover done (I bought it a month or two ago.) As it was over time for a service the manager advised I get the 12k service done even though it only has 10250-odd on it. Fair enough I said.

I got the bill, and it was $560.82. That included oil, filter and the usual things you would do at 12k's, plus a "valve adjustment" of some sort, I assume timing.

Is it just me, or is that a little bit high ? I thought bikes were cheap to run...I wouldn't pay that for a 10k service on a car let alone something with half the wheels and a whole lot less complexity.

With the fork seal, it's a slow weep so they told me not to worry about it and that the fork is acting normally. What the ??? That doesn't sound right, but like I said I'm new to bikes so maybe it is ?

In fairness to Action, the bike does idle more smoothly and pick up better on light throttle openings than it did when I dropped it off, and the slack chain is now obviously tensioned better.

What's the general consensus on dealer servicing ? Worth the money, or would I be better off looking around for a quality independent in the Ryde-Parramatta area ?

2. And guess who probably serviced the bike?
    Mr $10 per hour 2nd year apprectice, that they charged you $88 per hour for. That there is some good margin, $60+ per hour.

That is steep for a GS500, but dealers are good at robbing people legally.