Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Newbie pillion - advice from pillion's perspective

Discussion in 'New Riders and Riding Tips' started by isis, May 2, 2011.

1. Hi everyone,

I'm a newbie to the forum and about to be a newbie pillion.

I did a search before I posted, but didn't quite find what I was looking for - apologies if I missed a relevant thread.

My partner has now got his full license and we're both excited about me riding pillion. I've read some threads here about pillion from the rider's perspective, which were helpful and I'll show him, but I'd appreciate some thoughts, tips and advice from the pillion's perspective.

At the moment we're just planning on short trips - riding around the city (visiting people, going to the footy etc).

I've ridden pillion once, helmet-less and in a dress and sandals in India - not recommended and I'll never do it again, but I have at least one experience :)

What is "helmet clunking"? Can I hold him around the waist the whole time? Is it better to have something behind me to hold onto?

And in terms of riding gear - would Doc Martens be ok or should I get proper boots?

Thanks in advance for any advice!

2. Probably most importantly don't move around, especially when the rider leans to negotiate a turn, do not try to do anything to counter the move. Grab rails on the side are probably the best, I don't trust the strap on many one piece seats. Alternately hold the rider around the waist.

Doc Martens are better than normal shoes, but they probably don't offer the same level of ankle protection as proper riding boots.There is a compromise between comfort, protection, and convenience.
  3. Helmet clunking is when your helmet connects with the riders helmet, and it can get rather annoying.