Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Newbie number 9835754....12358, how many bike km question

Discussion in 'New Riders and Riding Tips' started by Al Bundy, Apr 23, 2006.

1. Hi,

Ive been saving and reading netrider about bikes for 6 months now so thought it was about time i said hi.
    I got a helmet and boots yesterday and will hopefully order the rest of my gear by the end of the week.. then off to get my L's.
    This sites been great for reasearching and has probably already saved me a few hundred from reading the best places to shop and what to get, so thanks :grin: :grin:

A quick question, (and i did have a quick search, maybe i need some lessons).
    When buying a second hand bike, is there any way to tell if a bikes done 50,000 or 150,000 etc if theres no service history?
  2. Basically you can only do it by looking at the odometre and the overall condition of the bike You will find unless you are buying a really old bike most of them wont have gone over the clock anyway and your best bet is to take someone with you that knows bikes if your looking in Melbourne as I dont know where the sundrland shire is I will give you some help if you dont know anybody down your way just pm me if you need some help :grin:
  3. Just don't buy your bike from Sumoto, and you can be pretty confident the odometer is right :LOL:
  4. Thanks TAZMAN for the offer, im in sydney,
    I wont be getting a bike for probably about a month or so yet but just been looking around,
    I know the average car km per year is ~20,000
    but ive been looking at 96 to 98 bikes with about 50,000 ks.