Welcome to Netrider ... Connecting Riders!

Interested in talking motorbikes with a terrific community of riders?
Signup (it's quick and free) to join the discussions and access the full suite of tools and information that Netrider has to offer.

Newbie needs advice on first bike

Discussion in 'Bike Reviews, Questions and Suggestions' started by Pete70, Sep 19, 2008.

1. Hi, yes I am totally new to the bike world and looking at buying a new bike. I would like a sporty style bike but not full blown sportsbike. Need upright seating postion( I have a shonky back) not too firm a ride, something I can use as a daily commuter. I was thinking about the Kawasaki ER-6f,Suzuki GSX500f(anyone ride these?), ive only looked on the internet, not been to any shops. im 6ft2, 75kgs
    Any suggestions would be much appreciated.
    I will mention I dont really like the look of the honda cb, vtr style of bike, its really only the front circular headlight that puts me off(older style look),which is a shame cos it sounds like a great bike. I dont think I could live with it, the look is very important.
    Hope I havent offended any cb,vtr fans

2. Hi and welcome Pete. What will this mechanical beast be used for?
    If you are green to bikes have a good think about buying used.
  3. Thanks Chris
    Well it will be used for a bit of everything, to and from work, weekend fun and freeway cruising
  4. I forgot to mention I am open to a low km used bike
  5. I think you mean the GS500F? I have one, is my first bike. Great on posture as its upright compared to actual sports bikes(its classed as a sports tourer). Ive never gotten a sore back from it. It will also be big enough for you considering your height. Also great for commuting, its very nimble for a mid range weight bike. I get to easily 350km from one tank before hitting reserve. Will get over well over 400km on a full tank. Its also great in the twisties and holds its own agaisnt those bigger meaner faster bikes.